Posted by: edtechceo | February 16, 2012

Reflection One – helping others with technololgy

For my doctorial program, I need to reflect on our current class on Educational Technology.  Here is my reflection.

  • What attitudes, skills, and concepts have you gained from participating in the course so far?

Even as someone who loves tehcnology, I know that I don’t know everything out there.  There are so many resources that it can sometimes be overwhelming.  In fact, I stopped using Twitter in 2009 because it was giving me too many great suggestions that I couldn’t figure out how to process it all!  Through my participation in this course, I have found a renewed interest in finding resources and going beyond my known PLN.  I’m exctied to meet new people, and I am learning to balance the influx of input.

  • What have you learned in the course that you will not forget tomorrow?

I have learned that there are tons of resources available for 21st Century Skills and how to apply them to today’s world of assessment.  I have also learned of many resources for a 1:1 initatives.  These may seem like little things, but I might not have taken the time to look at these resources if it had not been for this class.  Now I have the ability to use these in my job every day.  That’s pretty cool. 🙂

  • How will you apply what you have learned to your teaching and future learning?

This morning, I gave a presentation to new teachers about technology tools.  I was able to use much of what I have learned in this classes to help inform that discussion.  I started by coming up with key areas of instruction and learning (assessment, creating scheme, organization, etc) and then gave about 10 technology tools to help in those areas if there is a gap in instruciton in that area.  The teachers were excited, and so was I.

Leave a Reply

Categories

